Wales Council of the Blind


Definition: A group of eye conditions which cause optic nerve damage and can affect vision. Glaucoma damages the optic nerve at the point where it leaves your eye.

Category: eye condition

Credit: RNIB


Services mentioning Glaucoma

Glaucoma Support Groups - (Glaucoma UK) Support Group

Glaucoma UK organises patient support groups across the UK. The concept of the groups is to allow patients to meet their health care professionals in a relaxed atmosphere, away from the time restricted atmosphere on outpatients, so the condition and treatment can be discussed in more depth. The weblink below gives details and contact points.

Glaucoma UK Forum - (Glaucoma UK) Support Group

A on-line discussion forum for glaucoma patients and their families. The website also includes information about all aspects of glaucoma.

Glaucoma UK Helpline - (Glaucoma UK) Helpline

Telephone and email helpline for practical help and advice about glaucoma and emotional support. The line is open Mon - Fri: 9:30 am to 5:00 pm. After office hours, an answerphone is in operation, where you can leave a message and they will ring you back.

Library records mentioning Glaucoma

Commissioning better eye care - Glaucoma Guidance - [Library Type]

Clinical commissioning guidance from The College of Optometrists & The Royal College of Ophthalmologists, which aims to to help those designing and commissioning eye care improve the value of their services for people with glaucoma.

Driving & glaucoma Leaflet - [Library Type]

The leaflet includes information on when to report glaucoma to the DVLA, the tests that the DVLA will ask the applicant to take, what to expect from the tests and from the testing optometrist (optician). Additional information includes clarification on the testing conditions for the visual field test and the fact that up to three visual fields can be taken, with the DVLA accepting the best result.

Glaucoma (RNIB Understanding series) Guidance - [Library Type]

Description, risks, types, management, and coping strategies for glaucoma.